About Algeria2022-02-14T11:11:25+01:00

Algeria, large, predominantly Muslim country of North Africa. From the Mediterranean coast, along which most of its people live, Algeria extends southward deep into the heart of the Sahara.

About Algeria

Official Name: People´s Democratic Republic of Algeria. Shape of the State: Republic. National anthem: Qassamen. President: H.E.M. Abdelmadjid Tebboune. Capital: Algiers.

Main Cities:  Algiers, Oran, Constantine, Annaba, Setif, Tlemcen, Ouargla, Beja¡a, Batna, Biskra, Ghardaïa, Tizi Ouzou, Skikda, Jijel, Mostaganem, Bordj Bou Arreridj, Djelfa, M’sila, Tamanrasset, Tindouf, Djanet.

Administrative Organization: 48 Wilayas (Provinces), 535 Daïras (Sub-Prefectures), 1541 Communes (Municipalities)
Area: 2, 381, 741 km2.
Neighboring Countries: Tunisia, Libya, Niger, Mali, Mauritania, Western Sahara, Morocco.
Climate: A Mediterranean climate in North, a semi-arid climate in Highlands, desert climate in the South.
Time Zone: GMT+1.

Official Languages: Arabic, Tamazight.
Telephone code: + 213.
National code of domains:DZ.
Religion: Islam.
Currency: Algerian Dinar (DZD).
Population: 43,9 million inhabitants on January 1st, 2020.
Average density: 16.08 inhabitants/km2.
Life expectancy:
Men: 75.12 years
Women: 77.72 years

Population distribution by age:
Less than 19 years: 39%
Between 19 and 64 years: 56%
More than 65 years: 5%

Working days: Sunday to Thursday
Legal Holidays:
1- National Holidays:
– Day of Independence (July 5th)
– National Day: November 1st (Launching of Liberation War in 1954)
– YENNAYER (Amazigh New Year): (12 January)
2- Civil Holidays:
– Labor Day (May 1st)
– New Year´s Day (January 1st)
3- Religious holidays:
– Aïd-El-Fitr (2 days)
– Aïd-El-Adha (2 days)
– Awwal Muharram
– Ashura
– El Mawlid en-Nabawi

Aller en haut